A Southern Girl in South Africa

A Southern Girl in South Africa

The Chronicles of a Southern Girl's Adventures of Living, Loving, Learning, and Traveling in Africa

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Part III: Ringing in 2012 in Cape Town!

April 9, 2012 , , , , , , , , ,

View of Cape Town from Signal Hill

This is the 3rd (and final…I promise) installment of my pictures and videos from my trip to Cape Town!  Make sure you check out Ringing in 2012 in Cape Town Part I (http://wp.me/p21RUs-7m) and Part II (http://wp.me/p21RUs-9x)!

Bo-Kaap Malay area, District 6 Museum, Khayelitsha township and Signal Hill

Fung Daddy and I had the pleasure of visiting some great sites while we were in Cape Town.  Check out the brief descriptions of each site below before you check out the slide show.

Bo-Kaap – The original residents of Bo-Kaap were slaves who were imported to the Cape by the Dutch during the 16th and 17th centuries.  The slaves were brought from Africa, Indonesia, Java Malaysia, and elsewhere in Asia.  They were known as “Cape Malays”, which is a misnomer since most of its residents are not entirely of Malaysian descent.  The slaves were not allowed to wear color or paint their houses; however, as soon as they were freed they painted their houses very bright colors.  Check out the video for pics of the houses!

District 6 and Museum – District 6 was a mixed community of freed slaves, merchants, artisans and other laborers until it was declared a white area and 60,ooo people were forcibly removed.  Their houses were flattened and they were displaced to an area called Cape Flats.  The museum commemorates the history of the community up until and after the forced removal.  Visiting District 6 reminded me of the segregation that existed in Alabama when my parents were growing up.  I can’t imagine the impact signs like “For Whites Only” would have on the self-esteem and mindset of a young person.  It’s just unbelievable that people looked down on people merely on the basis of the color of their skin.  It’s sad that this is still happening in our world today.

Khayelitsha township – a well known coloured township in Cape Town.  Yes I said “coloured.”  This is the name used to describe the group of people of mixed race (black South African mixed with some other race).

Signal Hill – a high peak in Cape Town from which you can see Robben Island (Nelson Mandela was imprisoned on this island for 27 years).

Please subscribe to my blog by clicking on the RSS feed icon at the top of the page next to the Twitter icon or you can follow me on Twitter (@SouthernGirlnSA).  Following me via the RSS feed or Twitter will update you each time I submit a new post.

Thanks for reading and hope you enjoy watching the videos and slide show as much as I enjoyed making them!  Please feel free to share this blog with your friends and family.  I want to share my amazing experience in Africa with as many people as I possibly can!

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

